Project Splice Weekly Alpha 3

Wait, wasn’t the last alpha build on Monday? Yes, yes it was.

I feel Friday is a better time to release these builds though. It gives people a chance to play the latest build on the weekend, which is the time when I feel most playtesters are active (I could be wrong). That means the feedback I get is based on the most recent build, not the week-old build that I’ve already been modifying.

The downside is that I’ll miss being included on George “Why Isn’t He Community Manager” Clingerman’s weekly XNA Notes (or at least it’ll be a week behind). This is a risk I’m willing to take.

On the experiment front, I continue to get more and more feedback in the playtest thread. This is good news, because it means I haven’t overstayed my welcome yet. The feedback is also really, really helpful. A lot of it is also very positive, which is encouraging to say the least.

The other experiment, narrated dev diary videos, has had a bit more mixed results. While I never get a lot of hits/views, my last video and post were well below average. However! I did receive some direct feedback from a few people that they would like to see more. I plan on sticking with this for a little while longer regardless, but it’s nice to hear that others are interested. So! Video!

As usual, if you’re an AppHub member and you want to try out the latest build, you can find it here.

Follow me on Twitter! @benkane

Do it.

About Ben Kane
I'm a game developer with a heart of gold.

Leave a Reply

